Divorces go through a similar process in most states, but each state has its own requirements to begin a divorce. In Maine, you or your spouse will have to have been a resident for at least six months or have been married in Maine to seek a divorce there. You may also be able to divorce in Maine if you were living there when the cause for your divorce took place.
Every divorce has its own challenges, which is why Maine’s laws required you to wait at least 60 days from the time of your initial divorce filing to the final hearing. Of course, those 60 days may not be enough to get through all your paperwork and agreements. If you and your spouse can’t agree on things like property division or child support, your case may take much longer.
Can you get a divorce without an attorney?
While the law does allow people to represent themselves during divorces, it’s not a good idea. It is especially important to talk to an attorney before divorcing if you and your spouse can’t agree on decisions you have to make involving your children, if you have complicated real estate holdings, financial assets or property or if there has been a history of domestic violence in the home.
No divorce is the same as another, so it’s usually a good idea to talk to an attorney about the specifics of your case, so you know what to expect. Our site has more on divorce and helpful articles on divorce topics that you may be interested in.